Ice skating lessons

Pr. 15:31:  “The ear that hears the rebukes of life will abide among the wise.”

I spent a tense 30-40 minutes tonight watching my kids and some random strangers ice skate.  Although my kids had a blast, I was cringing every time someone even looked like they might fall.

The fact that I broke my leg on that exact ice rink 11 months ago ensured that I did not put skates on my own feet.  I learned a good lesson from my previous experience.  No way was I getting out there.

I wish it were that easy when it comes to sin.  Even though there have been times when sin has broken something in my own life, I have found myself repeating some sins over and over.

Why don’t I learn from my sins the way I learned from my broken leg?  I’m much more stubborn to the rebukes of sin.

This ice skating lesson has me thinking now.  If I want to abide among the wise, I have to listen to all the rebukes…not just the ones about what ‘seems’ to have hurt me the most.

Ever learning,

jamie

Leave a Reply

