Trusting in the Provider

Pr. 11:28:  “He who trusts in his riches will fall, but the righteous will flourish like foliage.”

Once in a while my trust in the Lord’s provision is tested.  It is easy to say that we trust in the Lord when all is going well, when we have plenty of food in the cabinets, and our checking and savings accounts are in the black.

Have you ever noticed that when 1 appliance goes bad at your house another usually follows?  I’ve been noticing strange little happenings with some of our appliances, and even a strange noise in the car.  All this during the same time as we are purchasing Christmas presents and birthday presents/events for our daughter’s birthday, and I had to replace my broken phone.

I admit that I occasionally get nervous.  Noticing a strange noise in my car last night, I felt worry creeping over me.  ‘What if’ started running through my brain.  What if the car needs repaired?  What if we get it repaired and the dishwasher quits working?  What if we do both and then someone needs to go to the doctor?  While we have money budgeted for each of these instances, I could see the funds dwindling slowly away in my mind.  My heart began to beat quickly.

Then, I heard the Word of God in my mind.  “Delight yourself also in the Lord, and He shall give you the desires of your heart.”  Ps.37:4  “Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.”  Mt. 6:33  “And my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus.”  Ph. 4:19

Does it even matter how much is in my checking account if I have the Lord?  No!  I could have $.50 or $50,000 and it wouldn’t make any difference in how God could provide for me.  God isn’t tethered by limits as we are.  If I am trusting in riches or lack there of, then certainly I will fall.  Money is not the answer.  My God shall supply my needs.

I remember a time when I truly had no money for food.  I was a faithful tither, and I sought the Lord, and a co-worker randomly put a box of food in my car, complete with Christmas candy his mom had made.  🙂  Yum!  God provided.  Need met.

Just a few weeks ago I asked the Lord to provide some hand-me-downs for my daughter so I wouldn’t have to buy her any pants.  I was suddenly reminded of some pants that a friend had given me about 4 years ago.  They were way too big at the time, so I had stored them in my attic and forgotten about them.  God brought them to my mind and I rejoiced and praised Him.  They fit her perfectly!  Need met.

Remembering the Lord’s promises and the faithfulness I have witnessed, I am reminded that my trust is in the Lord, the Provider, and I feel the blooms of joy and peace opening up within me.  If it’s God in whom we are trusting, our provision will always be at hand.

Thanking Him,

jamie

One thought on “Trusting in the Provider

Leave a Reply

