Oh be careful little ears what you hear…

Pr. 14:7:  “Go from the presence of a foolish man, when you do not perceive in him the lips of knowledge.”

Does anyone besides me find it nearly impossible to watch movies and tv shows these days?  We’ve never had cable, but we do have a subscription to a streaming company where we can get certain shows.  Besides a series my husband I watch together, I only try to watch this a few times a month.  Honestly, I’m not even sure why I continue to try at all.  Yesterday I tried to find a “feel-good” movie and within the first 30 seconds of the PG-13 movie I had chosen, there were 3 curse words.  Really?  It’s so frustrating.

I could have kept watching.  It’s just the way things are now, right?  But I turned it off.  Why?  I could tell there was nothing good that show could offer me.  If the writers aren’t even able to fill the first 30 seconds of a script with conversation that doesn’t include expletives, then they likely have nothing to say that I need to hear.  There are certainly much more interesting and creative ways to draw someone into a movie.  A God who created things as interesting as giraffes, rainbows, and Venus certainly made our brains more creative than curse words.

The same applies with co-workers, friends, family and church members, etc.  If we find that our conversations are being filled with foolishness…things that not only do not point to God or His will, but point away from it, then we need to ask ourselves why we are still in the conversation.  There are times when we need to speak up, change the subject, or simply walk away.  Not every conversation is worth joining or worth our listening ear.

When I cannot find a movie worthy of my attention, I usually turn on my praise and worship songs.  That’s probably where I should have turned to begin with.  When we cannot find a conversation worthy of our attention, we can turn to find one that is, turn to prayer or praise, or simply find quietness where God can speak to us individually.  My advice:  surround yourself with others who believe in the King of Kings and the Lord of Lords, just as you do.  Attend a church that speaks life, truth, and encouragement.  Ask the Lord to show you someone who needs an encouraging word.

If we are hearing or talking about the blood and the power of Jesus, then we’re in the presence of something that’s not only “feel-good,” but will guide us towards the Savior who will be coming back for us all.  “Oh, be careful little ears what you hear.”  The negative things affect us, whether we want to believe it or not.  If we are setting our minds on things above, we will continue in knowledge and be in a position to offer the same to others around us.

Filtering,

jamie

2 thoughts on “Oh be careful little ears what you hear…

  1. Hi Jamie.

    I totally agree with you, that’s why Netflix is so great. There are a lot of christian films available. Try googling “Christian films on Netflix” and see what comes up. I am not at home and I didn’t bring my laptop so it makes it harder to search Netflix, but I know there are quite a number of these shows available.

    And then again, there’s always Korean drama which is usually very clean and always has a good moral to the story. My personal favorites are: Secret Garden… City Hunter … Dr. Jin… One Hundred Year Inheritance… to name a few. ☺

    XOXO Sonja

    Like

Leave a Reply

