Instruction book

Pr. 10:17:  “He who keeps instruction is in the way of life, but he who refuses correction goes astray.”

I’ve been awake since at least 3 a.m.  My brain was on overdrive thinking about my children.  I kept trying to think of ways to correct the issue of me having to repeat my instructions to them about cleaning up after themselves.  (I hear you seasoned parents chuckling)  As is human nature, my initial thoughts were of talking them to death about how they need to be more responsible and how I am disappointed in their actions up to this point.

I finally climbed out of bed, knowing I needed to seek answers in the Word.  Oh, I can’t thank my Lord enough for giving us His Word!  How many times I have run to it…to Him…for real wisdom.  Thank you, Lord!

So, in the Word, I find a loving, forgiving, encouraging, and understanding Savior who I have disobeyed and let down so many times.  Does He talk me to death?  No.  He lovingly guides me.  Does He lecture me about how irresponsible I am and how disappointed He is in me?  No.  He encourages me with His love for me.  He loves me regardless of my imperfections and He humbly and gently shows me the way to walk.  He corrects me, sure, but through the lens of love.  He forgives me most of all and then encourages me in the fact that I am capable of so much more.

I was instructed by the Word of God today to show my children an example of responsibility through my loving example and guidance; not through an overcritical lecture or the discouraging feelings of disappointment.  I accept the correction of the sinful human nature inside me that allows me to feel entitled to act in the ways of my original thoughts.  I pray that God will help me to keep His instruction and put it into practice in order to guide my children to a loving Savior who offers eternal life.

Do you need instruction today?  Consult the Word.  When we model our lives and our actions after the Lord, we are glorifying Him and pointing others to Him.  Don’t refuse His correction, but knowing that He has good plans for your life, trust Him enough to fully submit to His will and allow His strength to be made known.  We’ll do it together!  My verse for my situation with my kids today:  “A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another; as I have loved you, that you also love one another.”  Find your verse and God will help you live it out.

Corrected,

jamie

 

Leave a Reply

