God helps all the fools

Pr. 26:11:  “As a dog returns to his own vomit, so a fool repeats his folly.”

This is the verse I chose this morning, but couldn’t quite get my thoughts together to write anything must about it.  I have been praying about it and thinking over it all day, and have landed on something I didn’t quite expect.

I have a lot of regrets about the person I used to be.  When I look back on my past, I definitely do not have rose-colored glasses.  My glasses are more burnt sienna.  Everything seems tainted by pride, ignorance, selfishness…the list could go on and on.

The point today; however, is not my sordid past or a lack of self-appreciation.  The point today:  Jesus!  I thank my God for sending His Son, Jesus Christ, to die for my sins and to make me a new creation.  My future is definitely seen through rose-colored glasses, as I look towards heaven, towards my returning Savior, towards the hope in God on which I can depend every moment of my life.

My Savior came to wipe away my past and my follies so that I can have life more abundantly and have an eternal future.  It’s still up to me to try to improve myself and stay away from repeating folly, but the beauty is that I have a Helper who walks every step with me.  I don’t have to do it in my own strength.  I can abide in the Lord and walk in the Spirit and let them guide my way.

Thank you, Lord, for forgiveness, for making me a new creation, and for your redeeming, everlasting love!

Looking forward to a future filled with hope and rosy views,

jamie

One thought on “God helps all the fools

Leave a Reply

