Your choices reveal your true God

Pr. 21:16:  “A man who wanders from the way of understanding will rest in the assembly of the dead.”

When I began this blog, there was one thing I knew for certain.  I even shared it with my husband, so that he would hold me accountable.  I knew that if I ever began slacking off on writing posts, then most likely my priorities would be out of whack, and that I would need to get my relationship with the Lord back on track.  I haven’t been as constant with my blog this last week.  I apologize.

Fortunately, my relationship with the Lord will survive this one, as I have actually been pretty sick in body since last Tuesday and am just beginning to recover.  I spent 2 days completely unable to read and the rest reading through a fog.  My prayers were breathed between groans and naps, but are now a little more sensible.

There have been times in my life; however, when I have found myself putting my spiritual disciplines off so long that they eventually vanished.  It’s when we suddenly can’t find the time for our Bible reading, for studying the scriptures, for prayer, or for learning and accountability at church, that we are putting other things before the Lord and we are wandering off on a dangerous trajectory.

This scripture reminds us that when we wander from the way of understanding, that trajectory will lead us straight to the assembly of the dead.  We don’t like to think about that.  We like to think God understands all the things we have going on and is intelligent enough to know that there is only so much we can do with 24 hours.

God; however, asked us to seek first His kingdom, promising that if we did, He would meet all our needs.  All those other things we have to do…God will be the One to help us complete them if we simply put Him first.  The math doesn’t make sense to us, but its a truth of the Lord, and His ways are not our ways.

God also told us to have no other gods before Him.  When we don’t have time for prayer, what is it that we are finding more important than our time with God?  It hurts to realize that the thing you put before Him has now become a god in your life.  If we find there just isn’t time to read the Word, thinking there are just too many other things that require our attention, then we have put those other things before Him.  We have made idols of the minute and random things on our schedule.

I know.  This hurts to think about.  We so easily justify our actions, thinking our excuses can cover the truth.  The truth; however, is that when we begin putting off our relationship with God, we will eventually find rest from our schedule…in the assembly of the dead.  We just can’t afford to wander from understanding, and Pr. 9:10 clearly tells us that understanding is “the knowledge of the Holy One.”

We must make time to continue in His Word and His presence.  He will take care of our schedule, and we will find that we actually have more joy, peace, strength, and patience to handle all that comes our way when the Holy Spirit is the One in control.  Don’t wander off!

Happy to be back in the Word,

jamie

 

 

Leave a Reply

