Do it today!

Pr. 27:1:  “Do not boast about tomorrow, for you do not know what a day may bring forth.”

At church on Sunday our Pastor reminded us that one of us could die at any moment.  He encouraged us to seize the moment we had to tell each other how we felt about one another.  We had a wonderful time of fellowship.  The next day one of our congregation members passed away.  Pastor was right.

I remember when I was 19.  My childhood friend was in a car wreck and some of our mutual friends called in the middle of the night to say she wasn’t expected to make it to morning.  My mom actually spoke to them on the phone, so I didn’t hear the urgency in their voices.  I had to open at work the next day and, being 19, still thought we were invincible.  I determined that I would pray for her and go see her as soon as I left work the next day.  I never imagined she’d actually die.

The knock on my door the next morning informed me I was wrong.  The decision I made haunted me for a long time.  Now, almost 20 years later, I still try to remind myself to speak my feelings of affection while I still have time.  I’m not perfect at it.  I still get distracted, busy with housework, and nervous, but overall I try to share love, affection, and encouragement whenever possible.  I am one of those “huggers.”  🙂

It is fine to plan for the future, but don’t put off until tomorrow the things that truly matter.  Today, determine to spend time with the Lord, express your love and affection for those in your life who truly matter, and reach out to someone you know that needs your touch.  Who knows if you or they will have a tomorrow?

I love and care for you,

jamie

One thought on “Do it today!

Leave a Reply

