Imitate me

Pr. 23:26:  “My son, give me your heart, and let your eyes observe my ways.”

Solomon bids his son to listen to his wisdom, watch how he was living, and follow suit.  Wow.  He must have been pretty confident in his behavior.  In 1 Cor. 4:16 Paul wrote to the church in Corinth, “Therefore I urge you, imitate me.”  He urged them.  Are you able to urge your children to do the same?  Would you be able to urge anyone to do so?

At the end of the day do you feel confident enough in your values and behavior to urge someone to watch and imitate your life?  I can honestly say that anyone watching me a lot of my life would have been led quickly astray.  In fact, I know for a fact that there are many that probably were led astray by my example.  What a sad reality to face, but it is true.  I see many of their faces as I type.

So, what now?  I cannot change my past behavior.  I cannot dig up the seeds that were already planted.  Now is the time to accept Jesus’ gift of forgiveness through His blood.  Now is the time to run boldly to the throne of grace to obtain the mercy and grace I need.  Now is the time to allow the Lord to be Lord of every area in my life, so that others may see Him in me.

Maybe you need to do this, as well.  You are not alone.  My friend Sonja sent me an email just this week that said, “you cannot move forward in your relationship with Christ looking backwards!”  Let’s take her advice, accept the forgiveness, grace, and renewing of Jesus Christ, and let’s move forward.  Together we can change our futures and the futures of those around us.

God, we ask that today you forgive and renew us once more and fill us with your Holy Spirit.  Guide us as we walk in the Spirit and give us wisdom for this day.  Through Your strength, help us to live a life worth imitating.  In You our futures are always bright!

Imitating my Father,

jamie

Leave a Reply

