How do I get a merry heart?

Pr. 17: 22:  “A merry heart does good, like medicine, but a broken spirit dries the bones.”

Have you ever had a broken spirit?  I certainly have.  Last year my spirit was so broken that most days I didn’t want to get out of my bed.  As I was losing hope, everything seemed like a struggle and couldn’t see a way out.  I almost felt like I withering away.  I knew that God was the answer, but I couldn’t seem to get to Him.

Then last fall I made a choice.  To have a real relationship with someone you have to spend time with them, listen to them talk, share pieces of your self with them, and invest time and energy in to them.  My broken spirit had dried my bones to the point where I felt that I had no energy to invest in my relationship with God.  I didn’t want to get out of bed in the mornings, so I didn’t spend time with God in the mornings.  I had no joy inside, so I felt like I didn’t have enough joy to offer praise to God with my whole heart.  I didn’t have the energy to listen, so I felt like I didn’t have the energy to truly understand the Word as I was reading, and so I quit reading.

The choice I made last fall was set on fire by a statement my Pastor made from the pulpit.  He said that there are consequences to being a Christian.  For me that meant that one of the consequences to being a Christian was that I had to read the Word every day.  I still didn’t FEEL like it, but I no longer made it an option.  If God was truly the Lord of my life, then I needed to act as though He was.  So, I started.  Day by day a healing balm was being spread over my heart and my spirit.  Day by day my bones became stronger.  Day by day life was breathed back into my body and into my spirit and I became a new creation in Christ.

We know we cannot have a relationship with our spouse or our friends if we aren’t “present” in their lives.  Those relationships will suffer or possibly die away if we put nothing into them .  Our relationship with God is no different.  The Word IS God.  When we stay in the Word, God can truly sustain our lives like He cannot when we pull away.  I know this from experience.

I hope that my experience will motivate you not to leave the Word, or to make the decision to no longer allow reading the Word to be an option.  It is necessary to sustain our lives and our spirits.  Sure, we can ‘live’ without it, but not to our fullest.  The Word is the truth we need to fully function and to be our healthiest.

Praising Him with a merry heart,

jamie

Leave a Reply

