What are your plans?

Pr. 16: 9:  “A man’s heart plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps.”

Have you ever had a plan that you never saw fulfilled?  In my younger days I wanted to join the Peace Corps.  Living in a foreign country with little distractions or possessions, all while helping others seemed like the perfect life to me.  I never saw that plan take place.  At times I have wondered how that experience would have been.

Now, there is nothing wrong with joining the Peace Corps.  Helping others should certainly be a priority in our lives.  Looking back; however, I find that the part I wanted most was the selfish, isolated lifestyle that would allow me to feel a sense of freedom, not being tied down to 1 place or to any 1 person.  I wanted to live like a nomad.  I wanted to help by doing physical labor, but I didn’t want to make connections with people as I went.

I am so thankful the Lord has directed my steps and my plans were never completed.  In my recent years I have been privileged to participate in mission work.  I have even made it to a foreign country where I was able to dig ditches, scrub walls, pick up trash, and learn a little bit about plumbing.  The most fulfilling part of those trips; however, had nothing to do with physical work and certainly didn’t come from being isolated and selfish.  The best part of the mission work I have done has been the connections.  The very thing I planned to leave out of my life is the very thing that makes my life fulfilling.  Working for the Lord offers something that the Peace Corps never could…an eternal reason behind the actions.

IMG_1988

Notice I didn’t attach a picture of the plumbing  🙂

Don’t be afraid to connect.  When we have the Lord, we have so much to offer and there are so many in our world that need Him.  We can’t keep His love and His Word to ourselves.  If we will truly trust in the Lord and in His provision, we can know that God will help us, even with the relationships.  He won’t leave you speechless and uncertain.  He has a word for someone that maybe only you can deliver.  Give your plans over to Him today and let Him direct your steps to the exact place where He needs you.  You will never regret it!

Thankful for my unfulfilled plans and rejoicing in my eternal work!

jamie

 

 

 

 

One thought on “What are your plans?

  1. I see that you learned how to attach pictures to your blog! I love it! And I also heartily agree with your message. So many times we want to do things without examining the reason why. I’m so glad that God doesn’t always give us what we pray for, but in His greater knowledge, gives us what we need instead.

    Completely His, Sonja

    Like

Leave a Reply

