When you need refuge

Pr. 14:26:  “In the fear of the Lord there is strong confidence, and His children will have a place of refuge.”

Have you ever needed a place of refuge?  When I was a little girl, maybe 5 or 6, the neighbor’s great dane got out of their fence and came for me.  (he was known for being mean)  I climbed on top of the roof of another neighbor’s car, but the great dane was still trying to come after me.  An adult distracted him, and the lady next door called for me to run to her house so I could hide safely inside.

I had a choice to make in that moment.  I could stay on the roof of the car, somewhat safe, but still at risk of being attacked; or I could risk it all and run to the place of refuge where I knew for sure there would be safety.  The run from that car was terrifying, but I knew if I could just get inside her house I would absolutely be safe.  I don’t know what happened after that.  I presume some adults took care of the situation.  Me?  I was safe in the place of refuge.

We have the same place of refuge with the Lord.  Sometimes it is scary to leap and start running, to risk it all, and to believe we will actually be safe.  If we truly fear the Lord; however, we can believe that He is who is says He is, we will find the confidence to run for it!  In that strong confidence, we can risk it all, knowing that in our place of refuge we will be safe.  That doesn’t mean life does not still happen and scary things no longer show up.  I am still scared of big dogs to this day.  It just means that when those things come near us next time, we will know from experience exactly where to run!  Take the risk today…run for it…find refuge in the Lord!  You will find the safety that you need.  He is waiting right now.

Putting on my running shoes,

jamie

Leave a Reply

